2018 Detailed Qualified Candidate List

Download

Measure Overview

Download

Qualified Candidates

Mayor

Cat

Brooks

info@catbrooksforoakland.com

Ken

Houston

sonofoakland@gmail.com

Saied R.

Karamooz

saied@everyonesmayor.org

Peter Y.

Liu

peteryliu@aim.com

Pamela

Price

votepyp@gmail.com

Libby

Schaaf

info@libbyformayor.com

Nancy

Sidebotham

nannystu@sonic.net

Jesse A.J.

Smith

oaksmith2018@gmail.com

Marchon

Tatmon

votemarchon@gmail.com

Cedric Anthony

Troupe

cat8862@yahoo.com

District Two

Nikki Fortunato

Bas

nikki@nikki4oakland.com

Abel

Guillen

abelforoakland@gmail.com

Donte Kenzie

Smith

kenziesmith23@gmail.com


District Four

Pamela

Harris

pam4oakland@gmail.com

Francis M.

Hummel

fmatthummel@gmail.com

Nayeli M.

Maxson

nayeliforoakland@gmail.com

Charlie M.

Michelson

cmmichelson@icloud.com

Joseph E.

Simmons

josephsimmons01@gmail.com

Joseph E.

Tanios

jtanios7@gmail.com

Sheng

Thao

shengforoakland@gmail.com

District Six

Desley

Brooks

desleyb@gmail.com

Maria L. "Marlo"

Rodriguez

marlo4oakland@outlook.com

Natasha

Middleton

natasha@natashaforoakland.com

Loren M.

Taylor

loren@lorentaylor.org

Mya

Whitaker

mwhitaker425@gmail.com

City Auditor

Brenda D.

Roberts

carlos.hickerson@gmail.com

Courtney

Ruby

courtney@courtneyruby.com

School Board - District Two

Aimee

Eng

amieesuekoeng@gmail.com

School Board - District Four

Clarissa

Doutherd

clarissadoutherd@gmail.com

Gary

Yee

yee4schools2018@gmail.com

School Board - District Six

Shanthi

Gonzales

gonzalesforschools@gmail.com

*Anthony

Wilson

wilson.carlisle@gmail.com

*Write-In Candidate

Candidates are selected by Ranked Choice Voting (RCV). For more information about RCV please visit - http://www.acgov.org/rov/rcv/.

Qualified Ballot Measures

CITY OF OAKLAND 2018 BALLOT MEASURES
Assigned Letter Keyword(s) Ballot Question Voting Threshold
V Cannabis Shall the Measure: (1) allowing cannabis businesses to pay business taxes quarterly; (2) allowing cannabis manufacturing and/or cultivation businesses to deduct the value of raw materials from gross receipts in calculating business taxes in the manner applicable to manufacturing businesses; and (3) authorizing the City Council, without returning to the voters, to amend medical or non-medical cannabis businesses taxes in any manner that does not increase the tax rate, be adopted? 50% + one
W Parcel Tax - Vacant Properties Shall the Measure, to fund homeless services and resources to address illegal dumping, and discourage vacant properties, by enacting a Vacant Property Tax on parcels used less than 50 days per year, at annual rates of $6,000 per parcel, $3,000 for condominium units, and other specified rates; raising about $10,000,000 annually for 20 years; with community oversight and exemptions for very low income, low-income seniors and hardship, be adopted? 2/3rd or 66%
X Real Property Transfer Tax Shall the Measure graduating the real estate transfer tax as follows: 1% up to $300,000; 1.5% over $300,000 - 2,000,000; 1.75% over $2,000,000 - 5,000,000; and 2.5% over $5,000,000; a lower rate for low-moderate income first-time homebuyers; and reducing the tax up to 1/3 for seismic retrofit or solar energy work costs incurred by low-moderate income homebuyers; raising approximately $9,000,000 annually, until repealed, be adopted? 50% + one
Y Eviction Ordinance Shall the Measure amending Oakland’s Just Cause for Eviction Ordinance (“Ordinance”) to: (1) remove the exemption for owner occupied duplexes and triplexes; and (2) allow the City Council, without returning to the voters, to add limitations on a landlord’s right to evict under the Ordinance, be adopted? 50% + one
Z Hotel Employees Shall the measure to amend Oakland’s Municipal Code to: (1) establish workplace protections and minimum hourly wage of $15 with benefits or $20 without benefits, increasing annually with inflation, for employees of Oakland hotels with 50 or more guest rooms; (2) authorize administrative enforcement of Oakland’s employment standards for hotel and non-hotel workers; and (3) create City department to administratively enforce Oakland’s employment standards for hotel and non-hotel workers, be adopted? 50% + one
AA Children's Initiative Shall the measure amending Oakland’s Charter for the purposes of funding services to: expand access to early childhood and preschool education; improve high school and college graduation and career readiness; provide mentoring and college financial assistance; by establishing a $198, 30-year parcel tax for single-family parcels and specified rates for other parcel types, raising approximately $25,000,000-30,000,000 annually, with citizen’s oversight, and exemptions for low-income households and others, be adopted? 2/3rd or 66%