Redistricting Commission’s First Meeting Scheduled for October 14 at 5:00 pm

Date Posted: October 12th, 2020 @ 12:03 PM
Last Updated: October 12th, 2020 @ 12:06 PM
Placeholder Logo

Oakland, CA — Oakland’s inaugural Redistricting Commission will hold its first meeting at 5:00 pm on Wednesday, October 14, 2020. The Commission will initiate its months long civic engagement process for drawing the new boundaries for City Council and School Board of Directors districts.

The 15-member Redistricting Commission was formed in August 2020, after months of screening applicants by a three-person panel. The Redistricting Commission is comprised of the following members:

  • Benjie Achtenberg
  • Amber Blackwell
  • Daniel Chesmore (Alternate)
  • Gloria Crowell
  • Lilibeth Gangas
  • Shirley Gee
  • Stephanie Goode
  • Masoud “Matt” Hamidi (Alternate)
  • Martha Hernandez
  • Paul Marshall
  • Tracy Richmond McKnight
  • Diana Miller
  • Tejal Shah
  • Jan Stevens
  • Mary Velasco

To participate in the meeting via Zoom teleconference, click here: The meeting will also broadcast live on KTOP, available on Comcast Cable channel 10, AT&T U-verse channel 99-Government, and by live stream.

The Redistricting Commission is expected to complete its work in approving the new district boundaries by December 31, 2021. The Commissioners are eligible to serve one term, which concludes when the final district maps are approved.

For additional information on the Redistricting Commission, or to receive email notifications on the Commission’s work, visit: and select the ‘Register’ icon.

Media Contact

Richard J. Luna

Assistant to the City Administrator


Download Press Release