There is a High Wind Watch and a Red Flag Warning for the East Bay hills starting Sunday, October 25 at 4pm.

Resources for Workers Impacted by COVID-19

Resources for Oakland workers to Plan, Prepare and Respond to Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19).

Date Posted: March 11th, 2020 @ 1:28 PM
Last Updated: September 21st, 2020 @ 4:04 PM


Unemployment Insurance

California is now participating in the Lost Wages Assistance program. This will provide an additional $300 per week for people who receive at least $100 per week in unemployment benefits. If you qualify, payments are for weeks of unemployment dating back to July 26, even if you are paid later.

File a State Unemployment Insurance Claim

How to Apply for UI Benefits (File a Claim) (YouTube) English | Spanish | Cantonese | Vietnamese | Mandarin

1-Week Waiting Period for State Unemployment & Disability Insurance Waived

Alameda County flyer on Job Loss and COVID-19

EDD is piloting a SMS text notification option for individuals to receive updates about their Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim. The pilot began on Saturday, May 16th with a small group of customers. Please note that all text messages will be sent from (877) 324-1224 and will begin with: “Message from EDD:” Claimants that receive text messages from the EDD will have the option to opt-out of receiving text messages at any time by replying “Stop.” Claimants may opt back in by texting “Unstop.”

Federal Economic Impact Payments

Eligible taxpayers who filed tax returns for either 2019 or 2018 will automatically receive an economic impact payment (aka stimulus checks) of up to $1,200 for individuals or $2,400 for married couples and up to $500 for each qualifying child.

Regardless of how you receive your payment, the IRS will mail a letter to the most current address they have on file approximately 15 days after it sends your payment. If you have moved since you last filed, let them know your new mailing address.

Veterans beneficiaries and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients: The IRS continues to explore ways to see if Economic Impact Payments can be made automatically to SSI recipients and those who receive veterans disability compensation, pension or survivor benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs and who did not file a tax return for the 2018 or 2019 tax years. People in these groups can either use Non-Filers: Enter Payment Info option now or wait as the IRS continues to review automatic payment options to simplify delivery for these groups

Child Care

Essential Workers searching for child care can connect with Child Care Resource and Referral (R&R) agencies to find care

Essential Workers now eligible for subsidized child care, including health care, emergency response, law enforcement and grocery workers

Sick Leave & Disability Leave

Health Insurance

Covered California extends special enrollment period through June 30, including premium subsidies

Videos to Help You Enroll in Covered California
Watch to see if you qualify for financial help, how to create an account, how to complete and submit an application, and how to select a plan.

Workplace Safety

On September 17, 2020, a new law (SB 1159) signed by Governor Gavin Newsom expands access to workers’ compensation and makes it easier for first responders, health care workers and people who test positive due to an outbreak at work to get the support they need, including necessary medical care and wage replacement benefits. Read Frequently Asked Questions. The law took effect immediately.

The Governor also signed AB 685 to ensure timely notification to employees and local and state public health officials of COVID-19 cases at workplaces. This notification will help workers take necessary precautions such as seeking testing, getting medical help or complying with quarantine directives. The changes will in effect from January 1, 2021, until January 1, 2023. Learn more at:

Criteria for Release from Home Isolation and/or Quarantine and Return to Work

When do I Self-Release from Isolation for COVID-19?

Cal/OSHA Guidance on Coronavirus

File a Workplace Safety Complaint

File a Retaliation/Discrimination Complaint with the State



Support Services

Legal resources on health, housing, public benefits and workplace/employment benefit from Bay Area Legal Aid

Centro Legal de la Raza Resources for Workers, including workers who are undocumented

Disaster Relief Assistance for Immigrants (DRAI) Project, California is providing state-funded disaster relief assistance to undocumented adults who are ineligible for other forms of assistance. The application deadline was June 30, 2020. or (415) 324-1011

Free food and household supplies for impacted restaurant workers every Wednesday-Sunday, 4-6 p.m. for the month of April at AlaMar

Grant program for restaurant, bar, cafe or nightclub employees who have been impacted by COVID-19

Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) Resources for Employers and Workers on the State Labor & Workforce Development Agency website

Worker Resources at Oakland America's Job Centers of California for basic information, job search, job placement and training services

State of California's COVID-19 web page

Call 211 for critical human services information regarding emergency shelters, disaster relief services, assistance with temporary housing, and other basic social needs

Life Essentials, Training and Job Search support on OnwardCA

Grant Programs

Tax Filing Deadline Extended

Tax Day now July 15: Treasury, IRS extend federal filing deadline and federal tax payments

State Postpones Tax Deadlines Until July 15 Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Free tax preparation assistance for individuals and the self-employed is available through VITA