First Six Redistricting Commissioners Announced

Date Posted: July 23rd, 2020 @ 8:38 AM
Last Updated: July 29th, 2020 @ 10:11 AM
Placeholder Logo

At a random drawing held on Wednesday, July 22, 2020, Acting City Clerk Asha Reed drew the names of the first six Commissioners to serve on the Redistricting Commission. Those members include:

  • Jan Stevens (District 1)
  • Benjie Achtenberg (District 2)
  • Lilibeth Gangas (District 3)
  • Diana Miller (District 4)
  • Stephanie Goode (District 5)
  • Mary Velasco (District 6)

In the coming weeks, the first six Commissioners will hold an open process for selecting the remaining Commissioners to serve on the 15-member Redistricting Commissioner. The Commission must have at least one member per existing City Council District, and will be formed by September 1, 2020.

Full information on the Redistricting Commission can be found on

Media Contact

Richard J. Luna

Assistant to the City Administrator

(510) 238-4756