

# OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES - DRAFT October 8, 2020 6:30 PM

# I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 6:31 pm.

# II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

## III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Bruce Schmiechen Rashidah Grinage Megan Steffen Rachel Beck Michele Lazaneo Jenny Zilliac Terri McWilliams Saleem Bey Assata Olugbala John Bey Richard Speiglman Kevin Cantu Cathy Leonard Speaker did not identify themselves Chris

## IV. Update from Interim Police Chief

OPD Interim Chief Manheimer provided an update on Department activities including crime statistics.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Bruce Schmiechen Anne Janks Kevin Cantu Mariano Contreras Assata Olugbala Reisa Jaffe Tasha Mente Cathy Leonard Lorelei Bosserman Megan Steffen

No action was taken on this item.

#### V. OPD Presentation on Race and Equity

The Department discussed external and internal racial disparities mitigation, building trust through procedural justice and transparency, and building internal equity.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Joseph Mente Megan Steffen Nicole T. Assata Olugbala Reisa Jaffe Cathy Leonard

No action was taken on this item.

## VI. Use of Force Ad Hoc Committee Presentation of Department General Order (DGO) K-3 Use of Force

The Use of Force Ad Hoc Committee presented its version of DGO K-3, developed in conjunction with OPD and members of the community. The Commission voted to approve that version.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Cathy Leonard Alicia Socacci Anne Janks Bruce Schmiechen Susan Shawl Mariano Contreras J. Hoffman Assata Olugbala Terri McWilliams Rashidah Grinage Brandon Anderson Megan Steffen Jenny Zilliac

A motion was made by Ginale Harris, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to adopt the DGO K-3 Use of Force policy presented by the Ad Hoc Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith

No: 0

## VII. CPRA/Commission Staff/Inspector General Reorganization

The Commission noted that an update on the proposed CPRA/Commission Staff/Inspector General reorganization will occur at a future meeting once a meet and confer has taken place.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

## VIII. Commission Retreat

The Commission discussed potential dates, format, presenters, location, and cost for a retreat. The Commission voted on a not-to-exceed amount for the budget.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Bruce Schmiechen

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by José Dorado, to adopt a budget not to exceed \$11,000. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith No: 0

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting until 11:30 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

# Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith No: 0

IX. Recognition of Tara Anderson, Chris Brown, and Ginale Harris

The Commission recognized Tara Anderson, Chris Brown, and Ginale Harris for their service on the Commission as they complete their terms.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Cathy Leonard Michele Lazaneo Joseph Mente Kevin Cantu Megan Steffen Assata Olugbala Reisa Jaffe Rashidah Grinage Terri McWilliams Mariano Contreras Anne Janks No action was taken on this item.

X. Report from Special Concurrent Meeting of the Oakland City Council, Community Policing Advisory Board (CPAB), Public Safety and Services Oversight Commission (SSOC), and Police Commission on September 29, 2020

The Commission discussed key points from the September 29<sup>th</sup> meeting.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Fallah Bandabaila Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

XI. Update on Special Order (SO) 9205 Banning Carotid Restraint and All Forms of Asphyxia The Commission discussed the outcome of the City Council meeting on October 6, 2020 where the Police Commission and OPD each presented versions of SO 9205 for adoption.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Joseph Mente Mariano Contreras Assata Olugbala Reisa Jaffe Rashidah Grinage Megan Steffen Cathy Leonard

No action was taken on this item.

A motion was made by Brenda Harbin-Forte, seconded by Regina Jackson, to extend the meeting until midnight. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith No: 0

#### XII. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from September 21 and 24, 2020.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Henry Gage, III, to approve the minutes from September 21, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, and Jackson No: 0 Abstain: Smith A second motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, to approve the minutes from September 24, 2020. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith No: 0

#### XIII. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting: a presentation from the Department of Violence Prevention; the Commission's retreat; an update on the search for the next Chief of Police; and OPD policy 15-01 Community Resource Officer Deployment.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Rashidah Grinage

No action was taken on this item.

#### XIV. Adjournment

A motion was made by Thomas Lloyd Smith, seconded by Ginale Harris, to adjourn the meeting at 11:55 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Dorado, Harbin-Forte, Harris, Gage, Jackson, and Smith No: 0